PDA

View Full Version : Midi CC4 hi-hat with NN-XT



DRobins
07-17-2015, 12:52 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm trying to use the NN-XT as an acoustic drum emulator like EZDrummer or BFD3 for my Roland TD9 e-drums. All my pads work fine once set up (that took me a while) but I can't fine a way to configure my hi-hat pedal. It's the VH-11 roland hihat. I installed the EZDrummer demo to see how it works with the hihat and figured out it uses CC4 to select which sample to play depending on the position of the hihat. I know that I can do something similar with velocity but is it possible with cc4 data?
Otherwise has anyone achieved this with Reason's devices?

Thanks for reading,

D Robins

Osmose
07-18-2015, 04:02 PM
1. Do you have the proper drivers installed for it? Virtually every midi device need them.

2. Does reason recognize the cc4 input coming from the you vh11?

DRobins
07-18-2015, 04:45 PM
Hi Osmose,

1. I assume the drivers were installed automatically since the hihat works perfectly in EZDrummer.

2. How can I tell? :p No seriously, I tried recording and moving the pedal up and down, I didn't notice any automation being recorded. If that's not the way to tell, please enlighten me :)

Thanks for answering,

D Robins

Osmose
07-18-2015, 09:11 PM
Nnnxt doesn't automatically recognize automation by using a given.midi signal. You'd have to program it trough a combinator ;)
I reckon your trying to achieve a dynamic hat feel by using the pedal?

The nnxt has a shut load of knobs, 90% non automatable though..

Just to test things out, right click for instance a q width knob in a class equipment right click "edit remode override"; move your pedal you should see cc4 being recognized as the given midi input click "ok" you should see the knob moving now when moving your pedal.


As far as dynamic drum sounds in nnxt, that would require a patch that has been set up to do so, which I believe aren't in the factory sound bank.

Best thing you could do is automate multiple parameters at once trough a combinator; velocity, sample length, pitch, subtle eq changes and reverb dry wet.

DRobins
07-19-2015, 11:32 AM
Hi again,
Thanks for the help, I'll keep you up to date. If it works I'll post the patch, I can't be the only one interested in this :)

Osmose
07-19-2015, 04:40 PM
no probably not :P

But, the main thing is seeing wehter reason does recognice you pedal's input. Setting up a patch is second..

Runcell
07-19-2015, 07:26 PM
Hi drobins

Reason had very limited midi spec until version 7 when it improved and maybe improved a bit more with version 8 but still not perfect. Not sure what version you have but heres a chart for V7, can't find one for V8.

http://cdn.propellerheads.se/Reason7/Manuals/Reason_7_MIDI_Implementation_Chart.pdf