PDA

View Full Version : What interface are you using with Reason?



mobster85
01-17-2015, 08:35 PM
I am using Balance but would like to have another interface with more channels. Since they are not making Balance anymore i need a back up plan. They should have continued making Balance and expanded it.

Matt
01-17-2015, 09:07 PM
I use the Avid Eleven Rack, M-Audio M-Audio Plus. When get my new studio desk built I will be using my Mackie Onyx I i1220.

vocoderboy
01-17-2015, 10:15 PM
i have
http://www.gak.co.uk/en/focusrite-scarlett-2i4/74363
i've used M-box2
and i have a xiosynth too

mobster85
01-19-2015, 05:52 PM
How many inputs does Avid 11 rack have? Im looking for more than 4.

Matt
01-19-2015, 06:54 PM
How many inputs does Avid 11 rack have? Im looking for more than 4.

I has many but you can only use one at a time, it's really made for Guitar, Bass and it allows you to reamp. If you want a great guitar sim you can not beat the Eleven Rack at it's price. If I were you I would take a look at the Presonus stuff they have great stuff that is price fairly IMHO.

redmanmasonji
01-19-2015, 10:32 PM
I have the M-Audio Profire 610. Its a good interface but when you want a new computer it has to have firewire. Only con.

15thSINE
01-21-2015, 03:28 AM
I'm using DIGI 003 Rack Factory I sort of do and don't like it, I'm thinking of upgrading to MOTU 828x has Thunderbolt 2.0 & USB connectivity. I also use Steinberg UR28M SP/DIF out into my SP/DIF in on Digi 003 to record my standalone VST (Arturia Mini V etc). Like shown in Matt's video's , I use it on PC Win7 platform , the virtual MIDI cable you need is program called 'LoopMIDI' It's for free :) If you have Maschine 1.8 and above you can use that as you VST wrapper instead of Minihost. That's what I use my i/o setup for Reason :D

mavafa
01-21-2015, 08:01 AM
Hello. I have a apogee duet. I wish for another that has digital in. One day I suppose.

Osmose
01-21-2015, 09:38 AM
Im using a Steinberg CI1. It's a proper little thing, but im looking to get a bigger interface with at least four inputs in the future.

James A
01-21-2015, 09:53 AM
At the moment im using a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2. I am looking to upgrade though to allow me to track a live band or at least a full drum kit. I was tempted by the Presonus Firestudio project until i realised you couldnt daisy chain them to expand the system. Any suggestions for others?

Despondo
01-21-2015, 11:19 AM
I am using an older Edirol UA-5, but it gets the job done for me.
48

pdxnet96
01-21-2015, 10:35 PM
A Motu Audio Express and 2 Behringer FCA1616 (the Behringers can't combined in to FCA 3232, it may look that way in the config manager, but no...)

15thSINE
01-22-2015, 12:59 AM
At the moment im using a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2. I am looking to upgrade though to allow me to track a live band or at least a full drum kit. I was tempted by the Presonus Firestudio project until i realised you couldn't daisy chain them to expand the system. Any suggestions for others?

Hey James, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 has 1 optical i/0, word clock out. Steinberg UR824 2 x optical i/0, 1 x word clock i/0 (No sp/dif or MIDI i/o). MOTU 828x 2 x optical i/o, word clock i/o, thunderbolt 2.0 or USB 2.0 connectivity. A audio group on facebook answered me a question on thunderbolt i/o. It has large bandwidth as we know and can handle large amount of tracking at once like 16 or more tracks etc. Newer PC motherboard's have Thinderbolt 2.0 as well not just Apple , hope that helps :)

James A
01-22-2015, 12:37 PM
Cheers for the reply.
I will check them out. Excuse the stupid question, im a bit of a computer dunce really, im looking to record a number of live instrument sources so wanted something with at least 8 mic pre's with the option of expanding the system. Its going straight into a laptop. What use can i make with the spdif i/o? Sounds daft i know but in my mind i only need the mic pre's to get my live sources in.

Matt
01-22-2015, 12:50 PM
Cheers for the reply.
I will check them out. Excuse the stupid question, im a bit of a computer dunce really, im looking to record a number of live instrument sources so wanted something with at least 8 mic pre's with the option of expanding the system. Its going straight into a laptop. What use can i make with the spdif i/o? Sounds daft i know but in my mind i only need the mic pre's to get my live sources in.

Have you checked out the PreSonus FireStudio Project (http://www.presonus.com/products/FireStudio-Project)? It really is a great Audio interface and it can not be beat for the money. 8 Mic/Line inputs, great Pre's and it's firewire. you can get them for under $400

James A
01-22-2015, 01:37 PM
I certainly have Matt, check my first post. The only thing that put me off was that you cant daisy chain them to expand the system.
cheers.

Matt
01-22-2015, 02:45 PM
I certainly have Matt, check my first post. The only thing that put me off was that you cant daisy chain them to expand the system.
cheers.

Sorry I missed your first post. You can daisy chain it, it has two firewire ports to do just that.


http://youtu.be/C_6MtLJJK3U

15thSINE
01-22-2015, 02:54 PM
Cheers for the reply.
I will check them out. Excuse the stupid question, im a bit of a computer dunce really, im looking to record a number of live instrument sources so wanted something with at least 8 mic pre's with the option of expanding the system. Its going straight into a laptop. What use can i make with the spdif i/o? Sounds daft i know but in my mind i only need the mic pre's to get my live sources in.

All the ones I mentioned have 8 analog mic pre's, i/o in audio world simple acronym 'In & Out'. SP/DIF (Sony Philips Digital Interface) it's digital input output using coaxial cable. Expanding the system you can do with the ADAT optical light pipe input & output using a toslink cable (shorter the better less drop outs) that why you can daisy chain up to 2 soundcard even more etc.

James A
01-22-2015, 05:13 PM
Many thanks. I get the i/o acronym just wasnt sure what you would use the spdif for. Im assuming most of the time its to link 2 or more units together.
Will check out the vid. Thanks again.

grumo
01-22-2015, 10:47 PM
I'm using a NI Audiokontrol 1, it's meant for DJs and Traktors and whatnot, but I got it really cheap, it has an XLR+jack combined input with phantom power, another line/Hi-Z jack input, two separate balanced stereo outputs and MIDI in+out. I'm also looking for more inputs, but at the moment it'll haveto do :)

15thSINE
01-23-2015, 04:07 AM
Many thanks. I get the i/o acronym just wasnt sure what you would use the spdif for. Im assuming most of the time its to link 2 or more units together.
Will check out the vid. Thanks again.

SPDIF direct digital signal uses only 2 channels, so if you got DAT machine, CD Players, Some hardware synths and advanced hardware samplers have SPDIF. ADAT Optical uses 8 channels so you can daisy chain more soundcards , mic pre's for mic i/o.

deepsky
01-28-2015, 08:35 AM
Apogee Ensemble (previous non-thunderbolt version). Love it!

ravisingh
04-24-2015, 03:08 PM
hey i was just having a think about a similar issue. i love my balance but need more outputs for new monitors im going to be adding. is there a way to expand it and keep my balance, at least 4 now?