PDA

View Full Version : Cubase 8 Pro or PreSonus Studio One 3 as secondary DAW?



Dan Topic
09-12-2015, 09:07 PM
Hi guys. I need your advice:


Though I love Reason and it will always remain my major DAW I'm forced to buy another DAW. I need it to rewire it to Cognitone Synfire which is impossible to do with Reason. Thinking about Cubase 8 Pro or PreSonus Studio One 3. Which one would you think is better? What DAW do you use beside Reason if any?


Here's the list of DAWs working smoothly with Synfire:


Ableton Live
Logic 9, Logic X
Cubase
Reaper
Presonus Studio One
Digital Performer


Ableton I don't like, Logic works on MACs only, Reaper I don't know much but it looks not much as professional DAW to me and MOTU Digital Performer I know nothing about yet.


I have spent pretty much time making comparisons between Cubase 8 Pro and Studio One 3 but still not convinced which one to choose. Cubase seems to be more professional, Studio One has better workflow... I really don't know. Any experiences somebody? Thanks in advance.

Osmose
09-13-2015, 04:23 PM
i did work a bit with cubase a couple of years ago. Dont like it al that much to be honest. Windows freezing, cubase crashing..

But then again, im pretty reasonish workflow oriented

Dan Topic
09-13-2015, 10:42 PM
Thanks Osmose. I don't want to leave Reason at all. I doubt there is better DAW. But it cannot be wired as a slave and it's limiting me.

Osmose
09-14-2015, 12:06 AM
didnt think you were planning to leace reason, i merely gave my opninion/ experience on cubase ;)

Dan Topic
09-14-2015, 10:24 AM
I know, thank you ;)

Besides I have spent about $3.000 for REs and Refills this summer! How could I leave Reason? :D

Osmose
09-14-2015, 09:52 PM
you cant, its like pact with the devil :p

Dan Topic
09-15-2015, 11:01 AM
Done! Ordered, payed. Cubase 8 Pro + Steinberg UR 22 USB Audio Interface on the way ;)

Matt
09-15-2015, 02:23 PM
I hope your new tool for making music works well for you, make sure to share some of what you make and also maybe how you work with Reason,Cubase and Synfire together.

Dan Topic
09-15-2015, 06:23 PM
Thank you Matt. Sure I will. But it will take some time to learn Cubase and much more time to learn Synfire (it's quite complicated). But I love new challenges and think that it might be inspirational to use more tools not just one though I doubt there can be something better than Reason. I have spent many hours gathering information about all current best DAWs and almost everything they pinpoint as new features Reason has for years and even better. Only Cubase 8 has got some nice functionalities like Chord pads and VCA faders which Reason is missing. But in the end it doesn't matter what software you use; DAWs are just a tool, right? :)