PDA

View Full Version : Adding different samples to Reason Drum Kits



jimb
09-22-2015, 05:05 PM
Hello all. I've just joined and hope to advance my very limited skills and knowledge of Reason from you experienced users out there.
I have Reason Drum Kits 2.0 and was wondering if there is a way to add or replace some of the samples in a template when building a custom kit. For example, I doubt I will ever use finger snaps, tambourine etc.I would rather have a splash cymbal and a crash - choke. I was able to delete the tambourine NN-XT within the template kit and insert a new instance of NN-XT. I hoped to be able to put the splash sample ( I have a .wav file of that )in it's place but so far, no joy. I'm thinking it's a routing thing but I can't seem to solve it. Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers - jimb

FreSchProductions
09-22-2015, 07:40 PM
Yes you should be able to do that. Just load up a Drum kit and replace the samples you dont like. You can then save your customized kit :)

Matt
09-23-2015, 12:47 AM
You might want to watch the tutorials on the NNXT there are real good ones, just scroll to the NNXT in the device widget to the right. on the main forum page.

Osmose
09-23-2015, 08:06 AM
Like Matt said, check for tutorials. The next has a lot of powerful functions.

But coming to your issue, you should be able to right click on the zone/ sample and "replace" sample.
Be sure to check out how it is mapped since next kits usually come wit various expressions (switching samples)