PDA

View Full Version : Kong question



RTFX
12-12-2015, 09:38 AM
Guys,

I am attempting to layer a snaredrum for the first time.
Aim is to make it punch like Mike Tyson.
I want to layer in threefold and pitch and eq 2 out of 3.
Velocity is adjustable, but I can't figure out how to adjust the pitch (and in addition the level) of a separate layer.
How do I do this?
I made a pic of what I am talking about.
Mind you, simply turning the grey pitch knob changes pitch of the whole snare and that's not what I want.
176

Osmose
12-12-2015, 04:15 PM
In the blue NANO NXT it says "pitch", cant you change that?

Also, when layering sound in kong, its better to have a snare on each pad and then link them. Much more versitile ;)

RTFX
12-12-2015, 04:58 PM
Nope. Couldnt change neither the pitch nor the level in that blue part.
Which is odd, because the velocity is adjustable though.
How do I do this linking of pads, Os?

RTFX
12-13-2015, 04:03 PM
Meanwhile I figured out how to link the pads and layer a snaredrum.
Remaining question is if I can eq the different 'snarepads' only through the parametric eq FX
177
or can I connect, let's say, an M-Class eq to the pads?

Osmose
12-13-2015, 05:35 PM
There are 4 fx sections, the first 2 are per pad, the last 2 are "bus" fx, meaning the entire kong or bus??

Dunno really.. I only use kong for its transient designer :P

But, i believe every pad has a seperate output just like ReDrum?

Just wire them to a 16:2 and if you really need Kong's master section then route te 16:2 back into another Kong. <- Another reason to love Reason haha

amacca
12-14-2015, 02:08 AM
You could just record your snare midi on a track then copy and paste that to another 2 tracks.....then you would have 3 independent tracks you could use to layer the sounds any way you wanted. I.E. different snare sample on each using either a kong or nnxt etc.... different effects/compressors/eq for each....

Then send all 3 snare tracks to a sub bus for mixing back in.

At least that is what I would do. :-)

Osmose
12-14-2015, 06:32 AM
You could, but the problem of printing is that its more of a hassle to go back and change settings.
Also I think he wants to layer different snate samples for fattening.

When using the same sample treefolds, its easier to use a parralel channel or two ;)

RTFX
12-14-2015, 04:44 PM
Interesting to read those different approaches to layering.
When I first started making tracks, I indeed copied similar instruments.
What I ran into, was some serious case of unwanted phasing.
Maybe I did something wrong back then and shouldve Eq'd properly or lowering volume i.e.
Anyway, layering with Kong works like a charm.
There are hundreds of snares to choose from.
Been working on 'dat snare, tho' yesterday and I'm getting there.
Almost have it:)

Matt
12-14-2015, 04:51 PM
Meanwhile I figured out how to link the pads and layer a snaredrum.
Remaining question is if I can eq the different 'snarepads' only through the parametric eq FX
http://www.reasonforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=177&stc=1
or can I connect, let's say, an M-Class eq to the pads?

I may be missing something here but if you want to EQ each pad differently all you do is click on a pad and add an EQ to that pad.

Osmose
12-15-2015, 06:52 AM
@rtfx, things I like to to get that snappy fat dnb snare is to find that bouncy low end freq (around 140-180hz) and trow it up a lot with a narrow q, usually at least 4db, sometimes even 10... haha

Then a some aggresive snappy compression, slow release, attacj around 120ms (play around) get at least 6db of compression.


It doesnt work with everything snare though, but usually will. Espacialky on the cleaner ones.
Lots of "dirt" will lose the low end punchy freq..

RTFX
12-18-2015, 04:01 PM
Thnx Os!
I applied your tips and the difference is major.
Now they sound (and feel) like the snare I had in mind.
Almost causes heartpalpitations :)

Osmose
12-18-2015, 05:40 PM
haha! I had a gut feeling that was what you were after :P