PDA

View Full Version : The Vocoder



RudyPMagic
01-20-2016, 09:22 AM
Peace family,

I have been a Reason user since 4.0, however, I have never used the vocoder nor had knowledge of it's capabilities. Would someone please post a tutorial on this device? I just started using Neptune as well, and wish to interchange the two. Thank you.

Osmose
01-21-2016, 04:23 PM
here you go:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2vq6iXyPEHg

vocoderboy
01-21-2016, 06:38 PM
i hope they do another set of vids like this.

Osmose
01-21-2016, 08:31 PM
Havent seen a video from james in ages

vocoderboy
01-21-2016, 11:59 PM
i don't think he works for props anymore

ehatch
12-15-2016, 01:25 AM
Hello! I have been trying to get a vocoder set up in Reason 8. I'm trying to use a USB mic, but I can't seem to get the configuration right (or maybe it's not even possible??). I also can't seem to find any tutorials on this. I found a couple of older ones; one to set up the vocoder, one to set up the mic, but nothing about using them together. Any help is much appreciated!!

E

Matt
12-15-2016, 02:18 AM
I would just get this as it is far easier to use then the one that comes with Reason. Download it and try it, it free for 30 days and if you like it it's only 29.99

https://shop.propellerheads.se/product/sb-vocodizer/

ehatch
12-15-2016, 04:16 AM
Ok. I got it, but I still can't find any info on how to use it.

Osmose
12-15-2016, 03:20 PM
ON the back of the vocoder are two inputs, the carrier and the modulation input.

You should run something like a synth trough the carries input and use the input of your mic as the "modulation" input.

That's if you managed to set up your microphone and get proper input in Reason?

Matt
12-15-2016, 03:46 PM
Ok. I got it, but I still can't find any info on how to use it.

I am thinking maybe you do not understand how a vocoder works?

You do know that there is a Reason Tutorial widget to the right on this site that you can scroll and learn the devices that come in Reason.


Vocorder (http://www.learnreason.com/learn-bv512-vocoder-in-reason/)

Also know the Neptune has a Voice Synth in it. To learn just search the Tutorials Widget...easy as that.

vocoderboy
12-15-2016, 07:43 PM
there is a combinator patch called Auto-Vocoder.
open that up and reverse engineer that

ehatch
12-16-2016, 03:35 AM
I thought I had the basic idea of how a vocoder works. Now I'm not so sure. I am running a USB mic into an audio track in Reason. I hooked up NN19 and the audio track (mic) into the vocodor. No sound. I can see they are both sending a signal, but no sound. Before I connect them to the vocodor, I can hear sound coming from both. Thanks for everyone's help so far!!

vocoderboy
12-16-2016, 04:05 AM
I thought I had the basic idea of how a vocoder works. Now I'm not so sure. I am running a USB mic into an audio track in Reason. I hooked up NN19 and the audio track (mic) into the vocodor. No sound. I can see they are both sending a signal, but no sound. Before I connect them to the vocodor, I can hear sound coming from both. Thanks for everyone's help so far!!


you have notes in the NN-19 lane? also why NN-19? a thor or sub is far more appropriate.
i'd recommend you record your audio without vocoding and then set up the efx in spare track so you can figure it out.
and look for the auto vocoder combinator patch so you can learn how to wire it up.

Matt
12-16-2016, 04:21 PM
I thought I had the basic idea of how a vocoder works. Now I'm not so sure. I am running a USB mic into an audio track in Reason. I hooked up NN19 and the audio track (mic) into the vocodor. No sound. I can see they are both sending a signal, but no sound. Before I connect them to the vocodor, I can hear sound coming from both. Thanks for everyone's help so far!!


Here is a more in-depth explanation of how a vocoder works. (http://www.innovativesynthesis.com/introduction-to-vocoders/)

ehatch
12-16-2016, 10:18 PM
Here is a more in-depth explanation of how a vocoder works. (http://www.innovativesynthesis.com/introduction-to-vocoders/)

I decided to just work on setting the vocoder up without the mic, and just ran a drum loop through. It worked fine. Then I created an audio track with the USB mic. As soon as I switched out the drum loop for the audio track, I lost all sound. I can see that a signal is being sent, but no sound. I'm assuming I still don't have this set up quite right. When I first turn the mic on, I get sound. When I connect it to the vocodor, no sound. Not even from the synth. Again, thank you all for you're help, I think I'm getting closer.

Osmose
12-17-2016, 12:35 PM
First all, what Reason version are you using? I hope any after R6/7.. That is the easier way of doing things.

In any case, selecting a vocoder and just randomly mic checking wont help.. The vocoder doesnt have direct mic or audio capability's. You'd have to route the source to it first. So, where do you get the source from?

Easiest thing to do is just create and audio track and select your mic as the input source, this will allow reason to directly get your usb input into the given audio channel, which in turn will give you routing capabilities. Get an audio splitter, route one wire to the vocodor, leave the other one routed to the audio channel's output so you have a raw source in your mixer aswell, just for vanity sake.

That outta work.


In version 5 (which has built in audio recorders in the sample devices (nn19, nnxt, redrum, kong..) you'd have to record it as a sample in one of the devices first. Clean it up (set starting marker etc), create a midi note so the sample will play and then route the device that plays it trough the vocoder.


In any way, see if you can record your raw input anyhow. Thats step 1 in the problem elimination proces.