PDA

View Full Version : MIDI notes all record at same duration



Propersoft
01-21-2017, 03:18 PM
As I am recording a midi keyboard part, all sounds fine. I play it back after recording and every note is the same duration. Very short plunk plunk plunk. Change songs: same thing. New song: same thing. Anything I recorded a couple of months ago still plays back fine.

Any ideas?

Matt
01-21-2017, 03:44 PM
What version of Reason, what controller are you using?

Propersoft
01-21-2017, 04:43 PM
Reason 8.3. Everything was fine until a month ago or so.

Propersoft
01-21-2017, 04:45 PM
Steinberg UR44 interface.

Propersoft
01-21-2017, 04:49 PM
Actually, there is another odd thing I noticed several months back. On the transport control panel, my quick L and R locator buttons are gone. I have to use keyboard commands to make these jumps now.

Propersoft
01-21-2017, 04:59 PM
My keyboard is an old Roland JX-3P. Same keyboard I've been using all along. I was fiddling with adding different sound modules in the preferences section a while back. I was trying to setup routing to some external sound modules. Could this have affected something causing the notes to all record midi at the same duration? The plotted notes are all so short, just like a trigger really, no matter how long I actually hold the note down on the keyboard.

Matt
01-21-2017, 07:35 PM
My keyboard is an old Roland JX-3P. Same keyboard I've been using all along. I was fiddling with adding different sound modules in the preferences section a while back. I was trying to setup routing to some external sound modules. Could this have affected something causing the notes to all record midi at the same duration? The plotted notes are all so short, just like a trigger really, no matter how long I actually hold the note down on the keyboard.


I would think it has something to do with your midi controller setup, try the onscreen keyboard to record in some midi notes, long,short...ect. If it works right then it is your controller in some way I would think.

Propersoft
01-22-2017, 04:50 PM
As already mentioned, when I am actually recording the part it sounds fine. The correct durations are triggering the internal Reason instruments. The note durations follow what I am playing. If the keyboard was outputting incorrect durations I should expect to hear it while playing as well. This is not the case. Its only when I play back what was recorded. It is not RECORDING the correct durations. And I can see this by looking at the sequence track.

So, while I appreciate you trying to help, I don't think it's the JX-3P controller. I will try the on screen idea though, as you suggested. Thanks

Propersoft
01-22-2017, 08:20 PM
I figured it out. It is to do with "Control Surface Settings" in "Preferences". I set "Master Keyboard Input" back to the "Standard" setting and it is recording the correct note durations again.

I need to study up on how to setup this section to work properly with my external midi sound modules. But for now, problem solved.

Thanks

Matt
01-23-2017, 03:35 AM
Glad to know, thanks for getting back with us and letting us know how you solved.

Osmose
01-25-2017, 09:45 PM
i had this happen to me as well about a yea ago with my nektar P6. Resolved it, and it happend again a week ago. On the P6 its a "zone" overlapping "issue". Basically with these zones, you can set them up to have c1 to c2 for device 1, c2 to c3 for device 2 and so on.