Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1

    Do you mix your tracks in mono?

    After this interesting read, I want to give it a go.
    Did you already?
    http://therecordingrevolution.com/20...80-of-the-mix/

  2. #2
    Administrator Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Sunny South Florida
    Posts
    667
    Mixing in mono and stereo have their pros and cons but together they are the best. Simple put mixing in mono can help you hear conflicts between elements in the song. In Reason you can setup a Mono Channel and solo it when you want to reference in Mono. Also you will need to route that channel out to an output on your soundcard that goes out to a mono speaker if you want true mono of the mix. I find this a great reference tool.

  3. #3
    Reason Master Osmose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    677
    I try to adopt this technique as much as i can. Think it is a really helpfull tool just like the guy mentioned. Especially when your eq'íng.
    SoundCloud/ Osmose-music - Facebook/ OsmoseSounds -

    osmose-music.com - osmose-music.bandcamp.com

    "When you quiet to mind, you're not quit the mind" - Arcturus Ra -

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt View Post
    Mixing in mono and stereo have their pros and cons but together they are the best. Simple put mixing in mono can help you hear conflicts between elements in the song. In Reason you can setup a Mono Channel and solo it when you want to reference in Mono. Also you will need to route that channel out to an output on your soundcard that goes out to a mono speaker if you want true mono of the mix. I find this a great reference tool.
    How do I do this?
    Right now I use stereo imager to check out the mix in mono

  5. #5
    Administrator Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Sunny South Florida
    Posts
    667
    Quote Originally Posted by RTFX View Post
    How do I do this?
    Right now I use stereo imager to check out the mix in mono
    You can use that but for people who do not have it then can make one in the Mixer. In this tutorial I show how to set it up in the mixer and this is a great way to hear the R/L to sort out conflicts or better hear something. To truly have a mono setup you would need to send out the signal to a Mono speaker setup right in front of you though.


  6. #6
    Reason Master Osmose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    677
    The stereo imager ****s up the sound in my opinion. Matt's way is a better on.
    But i usually route my soundcards output trough a hardware mixer with a mono switch via my patchbay
    SoundCloud/ Osmose-music - Facebook/ OsmoseSounds -

    osmose-music.com - osmose-music.bandcamp.com

    "When you quiet to mind, you're not quit the mind" - Arcturus Ra -

  7. #7
    Administrator Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Sunny South Florida
    Posts
    667
    I can say I have never totally mixed in mono and know there are reason or should I say applications to do so. For my needs I have always mixed in stereo but also made many of the elements mono and through many years I have learned when to us mono mixing and when not to as a means to get a good mix. Fundamentals are a must but after that it's a free for all

  8. #8

  9. #9
    Reason Master Osmose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    677
    having mono elements is a must have in a stereo mix indeed. Though, completely mixing in mono would be silly :P
    Do so only when eqíng, after you've roughly set your levels
    SoundCloud/ Osmose-music - Facebook/ OsmoseSounds -

    osmose-music.com - osmose-music.bandcamp.com

    "When you quiet to mind, you're not quit the mind" - Arcturus Ra -

  10. #10
    Hello Matt,

    I recently encountered your technique on mono mixing in Reason, and it has helped tremendously. However, I notice that when I set up the mono channel, it cancels out some maneuverability on the SSL mixer. For instance, I can no longer solo tracks from the mixer once the mono channel is set up. Is there any way I can set up the mono channel without limiting my SSL mixer options?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us
Reason Forums is a Propellerhead Community. Here at Reason Forums our aim is to help people learn Reason and everything there is on how to make great music. We have tutorials, blogs, forums, free stuff, tips and so much more. We are Reason Forums a Propellerhead Community.
Join, Follow, Subscribe!