Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: The Vocoder

  1. #1

    The Vocoder

    Peace family,

    I have been a Reason user since 4.0, however, I have never used the vocoder nor had knowledge of it's capabilities. Would someone please post a tutorial on this device? I just started using Neptune as well, and wish to interchange the two. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Reason Master Osmose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    677
    SoundCloud/ Osmose-music - Facebook/ OsmoseSounds -

    osmose-music.com - osmose-music.bandcamp.com

    "When you quiet to mind, you're not quit the mind" - Arcturus Ra -

  3. #3
    Reason User vocoderboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    the dark side of the rack.
    Posts
    276
    i hope they do another set of vids like this.

  4. #4
    Reason Master Osmose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    677
    Havent seen a video from james in ages
    SoundCloud/ Osmose-music - Facebook/ OsmoseSounds -

    osmose-music.com - osmose-music.bandcamp.com

    "When you quiet to mind, you're not quit the mind" - Arcturus Ra -

  5. #5
    Reason User vocoderboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    the dark side of the rack.
    Posts
    276
    i don't think he works for props anymore

  6. #6
    Hello! I have been trying to get a vocoder set up in Reason 8. I'm trying to use a USB mic, but I can't seem to get the configuration right (or maybe it's not even possible??). I also can't seem to find any tutorials on this. I found a couple of older ones; one to set up the vocoder, one to set up the mic, but nothing about using them together. Any help is much appreciated!!

    E

  7. #7
    Administrator Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Sunny South Florida
    Posts
    632
    I would just get this as it is far easier to use then the one that comes with Reason. Download it and try it, it free for 30 days and if you like it it's only 29.99

    https://shop.propellerheads.se/product/sb-vocodizer/

  8. #8
    Ok. I got it, but I still can't find any info on how to use it.

  9. #9
    Reason Master Osmose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    677
    ON the back of the vocoder are two inputs, the carrier and the modulation input.

    You should run something like a synth trough the carries input and use the input of your mic as the "modulation" input.

    That's if you managed to set up your microphone and get proper input in Reason?
    SoundCloud/ Osmose-music - Facebook/ OsmoseSounds -

    osmose-music.com - osmose-music.bandcamp.com

    "When you quiet to mind, you're not quit the mind" - Arcturus Ra -

  10. #10
    Administrator Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Sunny South Florida
    Posts
    632
    Quote Originally Posted by ehatch View Post
    Ok. I got it, but I still can't find any info on how to use it.
    I am thinking maybe you do not understand how a vocoder works?

    You do know that there is a Reason Tutorial widget to the right on this site that you can scroll and learn the devices that come in Reason.


    Vocorder

    Also know the Neptune has a Voice Synth in it. To learn just search the Tutorials Widget...easy as that.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us
Reason Forums is a Propellerhead Community. Here at Reason Forums our aim is to help people learn Reason and everything there is on how to make great music. We have tutorials, blogs, forums, free stuff, tips and so much more. We are Reason Forums a Propellerhead Community.
Join, Follow, Subscribe!