Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I'll beg you

I'll beg you

Hello,

I am Michael Epic. Or...well, I used to be. Not that that was ever anything special. I'm a down and out musician, broke beyond all reason (no pun intended) and getting older every day.

I want to pen for you this huge sob story, but I'll save that for later if you want to hear it and give you the short version. I'm a dance pop artist, I worked in a recording studio for 3 years that did major label + local indie artist projects, I failed miserably at music because the guy who made beats for me with Reason ditched our music project to become a professional model.

Here's the only song I have to my name; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DuBE-XrGTMM

I did reasonable with it while it was on iTunes for a brand new artist with only one song and very little media coverage. I was on the radio a few times, in a newspaper and did a meet and greet at a mall. All small things.

Here's why I am here. I have Reason 5.0. I understand how it works and I know about tape compression and creative use of reverb and how to do gated pads and all of that stuff. The problem I have, is that no matter what I do I can't make music. I use the edit mode and edit blocks and try to scratch out anything that sounds remotely decent. The furthest I've ever gotten was drum beats and bass. I've been trying to do this since 2012 and have yet to make ONE decent song in Reason.

So I need someone's help. I have lyric sets, songs and ideas that would actually get some recognition. I'm talking PSY - Gangnam Style level. I'm confident because I've been in music for a long time and I know these songs would turn heads. However, I have no one to help me. No one to make beats. Anyone I've ever asked has flaked out. Anyone I've ever been able to pay (which took a miracle) never delivered what I paid for and I've even been ripped off a few times.